HOME

5 starsINTERESTING AND THOUGHT PROVOKING-AN EXCELLENT READ!, December 3, 2009

by Gail Engles (South Brunswick, NJ)

In "The Room" Harry's life would change dramatically while he is sitting beside his dying mother in the room where Harry and his brother as children, would hide from their abusive father. The event that Harry experiences in "The Room" lead me to read the sequel in order to get a deeper understanding of "String Theory" and the science behind it. I was also compelled to find out how the characters would be effected in the future after Harry's experience. Ray Melniks writing flowed throughout the book and totally kept my interest.

Ray Melniks second book "To Your Own Self Be True" and sequel to "The Room" had much more detail regarding the science and physics relative to "String Theory". It also references historical events with accuracy and clarity. Ray Melniks novels reveal a new vision of how our world could benefit from advanced scientific research in "String Theory" and Quantum Physics in hopes of insuring our planets future and the affect it would have on other worlds also. "To Your Own Self Be True" will also have many of us questioning our religious beliefs as well, relative to Creationism.
Ray Melniks first novels are an insightful view of what our world could be like if we can try to think "outside the box". Of the many things I liked about in reading these novels, the characters, the details of where they lived and how they lived their lives, is the sense of excitement for the future and for our children's futures if advanced scientific research in this field is acknowledged and becomes a reality. Our future generations may actually live in a better world than we do now. I highly recommend these two novels and am anticipating Ray Melniks next novel.

5 starsA technnical journey, September 21, 2009

by M. Morrison

I enjoyed the story thoroghly. A facinating fantastic look into a possible future. This sequel flowed as nicely as his first but also will read well on it's own. Thanks Ray... give us another one!

Looking for Reality, August 4, 2009

by L. Binnie (NYC)

In this new work, Ray continues to create a wonderful world of the near future where good people can make the world better and seek to do so in all their words and deeds. And along the way amazing and miraculous things happen to them. And what is so reaffirming is that this is accomplished with a firm grounding in the real world as opposed to the faith based scenarios that offer so much to the gullible but must in the end provide next to nothing-

I do not possess the bona fides to understand the science that strongly conjectures in favor of multiple and concurrent realities. But know that it is based on tangible and demonstrable truths.

This is Faith I can believe in.
This is a paradigm change in my world view that I can believe in.

This is a story that you will want to read straight through to the end.
It entertains and it opens up thinking so that you want to explore the threads that are begun in these pages.
It makes you want to be the better person in your soul we sometimes forget about when the daily travails of life overwelm-

This is about all we can hope for- Well done- Enjoy!

5 starsI am so confused, July 28, 2009

by Cheryl K (CO)

To Your Own Self Be True introduces Kaela Ladd, the other daughter of scientist Harry Ladd from author Ray Melnik's first novel, The Room. This story takes place in the year 2021.

Kaela is all grown up now and her father is gone. She will never forget the lessons he taught her, even if it took her a while to believe. Kaela is very excited. After finishing her internship, Kaela was offered a position at SciLab. There Kaela is tasked with teaching a Universal Personal Assistant how to function.

Research is not cheap work. Kaela's boss asks her to do a presentation to the board of a company in order to try and get more money. Besides working with a Universal Personal Assistant, Kaela also is very invested in trying to learn just what really happened to her father.

Mr. Melnik integrates physics with M-Theory. M-Theory is the concept that there is an eleventh dimension of space time. This so called eleventh dimension is believed to unify all these dimensions and be more powerful. While I love science, this book went over my head. Let me say this is not because it wasn't good but because the concept seemed a little far out there for me. As well as the fact that I believe that the story had some loop holes that probably would have been filled in better for me had I read The Room first, prior to reading To Your Own Self Be True. Again I want to say this was not a bad book, only that I felt to better experience what Mr. Melnik was trying to portray with his characters and time rifts that you should read the first book, The Room.

5 starsFinding your "It"., July 16, 2009

by Jennie Fantasia Kilgallen (Rockville Centre, New York)

In Ray Melnik's sequel to The Room, it's the year 2021, 15 years in
the future, Kaela, Harry's daughter, has grown up to be an intelligent, independent woman, albeit a little lonely and very much involved in her scientific work and attached to a computerized assistant Adam. Adam is brilliant, attentive and grows emotionally as the story unfolds. (Every woman's dream.) Unfortunately, he's not real. But Kaela does open her heart to real love and her capacity for empathy is refreshing. The characters in this book are not perfect but they're real. You actually experience the unconditional love they have for each other.

As you read this heartwarming story, you start to ask questions about your own life and the lessons you've learned just as the author's main character Kaela questions everything in her life. She takes you through a rollercoaster of emotions through events - (I won't spoil it by telling you) - intertwined with her love of science and a desire to find her "it". There is nothing more inspirational than a book that makes you question your own choices about yourself and the people around you. If you're looking for an alternative view of the world, you should really read this book. I can't wait to read the author's next book. .

4 starsAn inspirational, scientifc look into an alternative possible future reality, July 3, 2009

by Sassy Brit "alternative-read.com (UK)

The year is 2021 and twenty-three year old Kaela Ladd loves her job as a scientist at SciLab. Although she is happy with her career achievements she has little time for others, and would rather be crunching numbers than waste time on a boyfriend. Besides, she has a prototype Universal Personal Assistant (UPA) unit, otherwise named Adam, to keep her company. He is a beautiful face on a 3-D monitor and while Kaela converses with him about life, work and love, or lack of it, Adam parses data regarding her human thoughts, feelings and emotions in order to understand them. He is quick to evolve socially, in ways no one at SciLab expect. But then no one in SciLab expected some of their experiements to work either.

Before Kaela's father passes away he shares a secret he has kept close to his heart. It is something that happened fifteen years earlier, and although he is a little embarrassed he feels it is right to tell her in the hope that as a scientist she'll not dismiss what he reveals, but learn from it. Something happened in her grandmother's room that opened a door into the past, her father was there and experienced it for himself. Together with Adam they try to work out what caused the rift-- teaming Kaela's knowledge of science and Adam's sophisticated computing abilities.Will Kaela and Rael get it together and fulfill each others lives as you know they should? What will they do with the knowledge of what happened to Kaela's father?

While reading To Your Own Self Be True I felt the author, Ray Melnik, was sending a message to his readers through Kaela; that just as she was taught through science and moral lessons by her father, we need to go deeper into ourselves to find fulfilment and should learn (as the author says) to be people of reason in the hope of influencing the course of history, as many already do with their faith. We follow open-minded Kaela on a futuristic journey where she uses theoretical science such as String and M-Theory as tools to unlock the mystery surrounding what happened to her father. Many of these points were explained through her conversations with Adam, like the complicated spiritual side of humans; how we sense feelings and perceive ourselves in a way which goes beyond the physical, chemical and electrical activities of our bodies -- not easy for a "normal" robot to grasp. Adam is an intriguingly unique addition to this tale, and I found myself wanting a UPA of my own. He does everything from securing Kaela's home to ordering her food and even adjusts the temperature in her house. He's also a very good listener and a fast learner when it comes to Kaela's needs.

This story is told in the first person with a few point-of-view changes where we see into the minds of some of the other characters, and broaches aspects of religion, philosophy and science in a manner that provokes both interest and thought. I can't claim to understand all the scientific jargon, but I did come away feeling like I had learnt something in that respect. In addition, I enjoyed the way Rael came into the Kaela's life as a character with his own family troubles to enhance the storyline and that the heroine, Kaela, is a sensible, realistic character who makes you think about finding your "it" -- something that really makes you happy. And I am not talking material things. In my eyes, this proves Melnik's ability to craft a story, which will have you contemplating your own life choices and how, in turn, these choices will affect not just yourself, but others, too. To Your Own Self Be True is an inspirational, scientifc look into an alternative possible future reality.

Sassy Brit
July 2009

4 starsYour Choices Define You, June 18, 2009

by W. Bentrim (Bucks County, PA)

Succinctly I felt this book tries to drive home the point that you are what your choices make you. The experiences of a new, young scientist and her interaction with both her technology and the people around her provide the experiences and data for her to define her self.

The growth of an introverted, somewhat sad self contained young woman into someone who makes some decisions to change her life was interesting. I liked the interaction with an artificial intelligence and the growth of that AI into a personality based on decisions and beliefs. I think Melnik could double the number of pages and put a lot more flesh on the characters. I really liked the willingness of characters to stick out their neck for each other. Rael's connection to reality and the darker side of human nature was a good counterpoint to KaeIa's naiveté. I was disappointed that Adam, the AI, wasn't more of the story. I enjoyed the interaction between it and Kaela. Overall I felt the message was be cognizant that your choices are defining your life.

I recommend the book, it isn't a kick back, relax and be entertained book, it is a thought provoking, hmm do I believe that kind of book that we all need to read once in awhile.

5 starsIt left me wondering, June 17, 2009

by J. Jedras (Chicago, IL)

I have now read both books, The Room and To Your Own Self Be True. I am not usually a fiction reader, but both of these books kept me turning pages long after I should have been sleeping. I couldn't wait for the second book to publish and, after reading it, made me stop and think what "IT" really is in my life. I truly recommend both books for reading. The love shared between the characters is heartwarming and I wonder if some of the storyline in each book reflects a little something about the author himself. A++++ - buy both - you won't be disappointed.

5 starsa truly satisfying read, June 9, 2009

by Odaliz Rosalee Nieves "PR Book Queen" (Bronx, NY)

I had very high expectations for this book after The Room left me on the edge of my seat with so many questions unanswered. I definitely feel like the technology is the coolest part of the book. However, I enjoyed the story line and how it unfolded. This book is not long and drawn out but thoughtful and compassionate. It was a very enjoyable read and I was sad when I finished it. I will be anxiously awaiting Mr. Melnik's next book. I feel he is a great writer with the ability to open peoples minds to the message he is trying to convey as well as help people to visualize the unique and interesting technology due to the way he describes it. A definite must read for people who enjoy reading!

4 starswhen is the next book?, June 8, 2009

by Gregory Price

I like this book. I wish I had my very own Adam, the car is awsome and the relationship between father and his girls is very touching. The technology in the this book gives hope for things to come. I have a weak spot for gagets. I'm looking foward to more from Ray .

5 starsAn excellent follow up to The Room, June 7, 2009

by S. Pepe (Lindenhurst, NY United States)

After reading thoroughly enjoying The Room, I had high expectations for this book. It exceeded those expectations. The author did an amazing job of blending aspects of science, religion and philosophy in an interesting story that made me step back and think about what is the "It" in my life. I highly recommend this book and look forward to Mr. Melnik's next one.

5 starsEntertaining and thought-provoking novel!, May 19, 2009

by K. Davis (Silver Spring, MD United States)

Ray Melnik's new novel To Your Own Self Be True is the sequel to his 2007 work The Room. Where The Room told the current-day story of Harry Ladd, a scientist struggling to deal with his family's turmoil and mother's imminent death, To Your Own Self Be True takes place in 2021, and follows Harry's daughter, 23 year old Kaela Ladd. Like her late father, Kaela has found science to be her calling, and is recruited as a theoretical physicist at the much-esteemed and cutting edge SciLab where she enjoys working as a researcher.

Kaela grieves the loss of her father Harry, who before his death he experienced a life-changing brush with the metaphysical involving alternate dimensions. Because of his extraordinary experience and a research project called Stasis which utilizes the radical M-theory (I'm going to purchase The Elegant Universe by Brian Greene to better understand all of this!), Kaela hopes she may be able to see her father one more time in a Quantum Leap-type quest to right what was once wrong.

Of the many perks of her job, her favorite is beta testing the latest Universal Personal Assistant (UPA), a delightful interactive program in the likeness of a man whom she names Adam. Having devoted her life to science, Kaela admittedly doesn't have much of a personal life so she becomes quite attached to Adam, without whose help Kaela doesn't stand a chance of seeing her father again!

While To Your Own Self Be True often reads like science-fiction, it rests upon a base of existential philosophy. Our protagonist Kaela is a devotee of Albert Camus, the famously provocative existential (or, as Camus would have labeled himself, absurdist) writer who contends that the universe is indifferent to us and that human life is ultimately meaningless. This is not to say that Kaela is resigned to a life devoid of meaning - she seeks love and fulfillment just as well all do. While I tend to be more of a fan of philosophers such as Hume and Popper, I found Melnik's viewpoint thought provoking!

I couldn't help but look for parallels between this novel and Kaela's oft-mentioned favorite, The Stranger by Camus and found that, unlike Stranger's protagonist Meursault, whose emotions range from indifferent to bored when his mother dies, Kaela is profoundly moved by the loss of her father. However, in observing Kaela's conversations with her love interest Rael about finding true satisfaction in logical positivism, or reason, I can't help but be hearkened back to the meeting of the minds between The Stranger's Meursault and Raymond as they discover they both share similar views that society does not easily accept. Additionally, much like Meursault, Kaela does seem to be more of an observer rather than a participant in life.

While this is all excellent food for thought, I will admit that my favorite scenes are the ones depicting wonderfully advanced technology - and an alternate universe where Gore was elected over W! (If only!)

Whether or not you are a fan of science fiction or philosophy, this novel is a great read and I recommend it highly!

4 starsA challenge to find your "it" in life, May 15, 2009

by Feathered Quill book reviews" (Goshen, MA)

Kaela Ladd is a very bright young woman, with a promising future in the field of physics. At just 23, she is committed to science and is eager to complete her studies. Kaela has little time for life outside of the lab. When she is offered a position at SciLab, a renowned research facility, Kaela decides she can complete her doctorate by taking night classes and accepts the job offer.

Kaela is a bit of a loner, with few relationships outside the office. There are no boyfriends knocking at her door and the only person she spends any time with is her sister Lainey. Unfortunately, Lainey is not a scientist and so their relationship has its limitations. Kaela has been taught to question everything, while Lainey has come to accept the world as it appears.

The person who encouraged Kaela to question everything, to think with reason and not emotion, was her father Harry. Through the years they grew very close, with Harry sharing the joy and beauty of physics with his daughter. Then, one day, Kaela's father shares a secret, something he's never told anybody, that explains his voracious love of physics. He had been visiting his dying grandmother and upon entering her room, felt a strange vibration run through him. Strange things started to happen, and when he looked in the mirror, Harry saw a twelve year old version of himself. The past and present merged and Harry was changed forever. When her father was later killed in a car accident, Kaela assumed she would never get an explanation for the strange events her father had experienced.

Next we meet up with Kaela at SciLab. She has been given a prototype UPA (Universal Personal Assistant) that she's named Adam. Kaela is asked to test the unit through daily household tasks and conversation. Meanwhile, she has also been assigned a project at SciLab, working with Dr. Kyle Trace to research a promising renewable energy source. When Kaela is asked to go before the company's board to get funding, she is at first reluctant, but agrees and impresses the members enough that they grant additional support for SciLab's research.

Kaela soon meets a scientist named Rael whom she takes an immediate liking to. With the project's funding secured, and a new friend, all is well in Kaela's world. The story then takes an unexpected turn when Dr. Trace shares a past experience with Kaela that could change her life forever, and bring her closer to her father.

If you're looking for a light, quick beach reach, To Your Own Self Be True is not the book you want. This novel offers much to ponder - about life, the paths we've chosen for ourselves, how the decisions we made years earlier can change the future, and why we should be open to change. Kaela explained it well when she told Rael, "Many times, though, changing oneself is the most difficult thing to accomplish. It's been far easier for me to see the right path for others than for myself."

Some of the highlights of To Your Own Self Be True come from the conversations Kaela has with Adam, her UPA. Discussions range from marriage to death, and thoughts about what makes people happy. These deliberations will keep the reader thinking about his/her own life. Adam's sophistication develops with each new conversation as the talks become more in depth and interesting. Will Kaela ever find her "it" that makes her truly happy?

Because the main characters are entrenched in the world of physics, To Your Own Self Be True focuses much of its energy on science. Although there are no equations mixed in with the text, there is a fair amount of technical jargon, with explanations of string theory and M-theory bantered about. The author does tone down the scientific talk a bit so the non-scientist can understand what is happening, although it may require a slower review of the text surrounding these discussions.

Quill says: A challenging but rewarding book about finding your own personal "it."

5 starsto your own self be true , May 14th, 2009

by Rebecca G. Bartolo

I really enjoyed reading this book. What I liked most was the author's mix of scientific ideas mixed with personal relationships. I highly recommend this book.

5 starsSomething to think about., May 12th, 2009

by Lily Serene "Lily" (Seattle, WA)

If you enjoy fiction that also gives you something to think about, then read this book. It's well worth it; both sensitive, engrossing and thought provoking.

4 starsThe Room questions are answered!, April 21, 2009

by Crystal Adkins "Crystal's book reviews" (Ashland, KY)

To Your Own Self Be True by Ray Melnik is a continuation of his previous novel, The Room. In The Room, the story was about Harry Ladd and his very odd experience in his Mothers room; a rift in the universe was born in that room. His daughters were also mentioned, and in To Your Own Self Be True, you'll learn what came of Kaela and Lainey.

Kaela Ladd is a 23 year old physicist that believes in Science with a passion. Kaela is a loner of sorts, she has no boyfriend, very few close friends or co-workers at SciLab, and is feeling very alone after the death of her father. She has yet to find her "it" in life that is to fill that empty void inside of her.

Working at SciLab she is about to be a part of a special experiment called Stasis that will give her the answers she seeks about The Room, as well as a second chance to speak with her father. Along her journey, she meets Rael and sees so much of her father in him, she decides to help him and his family out by getting Rael a job at SciLab and letting them rent her Grandmother's house. Rael turns out to be more than Kaela was looking for, and with the last words her father gave her, she may find that one thing to fill the emptiness in her life.

Ray Melnik details the day to day life of Kaela as she works at SciLab, interacts with Adam, and learns about herself. At times the story would get a little slow and hard to follow with all of the scientific terms. Mr. Melnik has really done his research and thinks much like I would expect a rocket scientist would think. There are a few secondary characters that lead to the developing storyline that were well placed as well as purposeful. If you are looking for a futuristic novel without the sci-fi aliens and such, you might enjoy the mysteries of To Your Own Self Be True. 4 Hearts

4 starsThere is a great deal in this book to ponder over and it should make for some very interesting dinner table conversations, April 18th, 2009

by Norm Goldman "Editor of Bookpleasures.com" (Montreal)

Ray Melnik's To Your Own Self Be True is a great sequel to his first novel The Room that I reviewed a few years ago, which incorporated reference to the string theory and how an event in one's life can determine the course of one's future. With To Your Own Self Be True, Melnik goes one step further and interweaves into this story the M-theory that is an extension of the string theory. To some scientists M-theory is a radical theory of physics, however, it is somewhat controversial in the absence of experimental backup. On the other hand, if it were to be experimentally substantiated, it would represent remarkable advances in science.

Some of the characters featured in The Room, which had taken place fifteen years earlier, reappear in the year 2021 with To Your Own Self Be True. In The Room, Harry Ladd, who is a self-taught scientist and is deeply committed to reason as opposed to superstition, experiences an astonishing cosmic event in a bedroom of his dying mother's home.

As we begin our reading of To Your Own Self Be True Harry's daughter Kaela, a brilliant twenty-three year old theoretical physicist employed in physics research by a prestigious company, SciLab, narrates how her father revealed to her this extraordinary experience. As Kaela remarks: "The most reasonable man I have ever known just told me the most extraordinary thing I'd ever heard. Nothing I encountered before lends itself to believing that the cosmos can do anything but obey the laws of physics. But perhaps it was something yet to be discovered."

Among Karla's tasks at SciLab is the testing out of a new and unique Universal Personal Assistant (UPA) whom she has named Adam and who takes on a human personality. We discover that he has the ability to interpret data and coupled with his mathematical and scientific aptitudes will prove to be quite helpful in aiding Kaela solve her father's mysterious experience. Kaela is also assigned to work on a project with the most established scientist in the company, the forty-year old Dr. Kyle Trace who has contributed great insights with his published papers on quantum physics. She is quite amazed with the assignment and wonders why her superior, Dr. Carl Greene had chosen her to participate. Moreover, Kaela is speechless when Dr. Greene decides to entrust her with making a presentation to a company that SciLab hopes will continue to financially support it. It is here where the plot moves in a different direction when Kaela meets up with a young man, Rael. Kaela immediately takes a liking to Rael and helps him find employment with SciLab. Rael likewise has a personal secret and unbeknown to Kaela, he is able to leverage this secret in order to secure the needed financing for SciLab pertaining to Dr. Trace's projects.

As Kaela begins her assignment with Dr. Trace, she finds out that he had been involved in various experiments that transpired at the same time as her father's extraordinary experience and that may have been related to this experience. Furthermore, Dr. Trace informs her that he likewise had a similar experience as her father's. The two decide to embark on another try pertaining to one of these fascinating experiments in order to ascertain if it could in fact be replicated. The results turn out to be quite different than what Kaela had expected.

Yes, I have to candidly admit that some parts of the novel left me quite baffled with the author's overdose of scientific jargon, but then again I was never a very strong science student! Nonetheless, I did stay with it as the novel did spike my interest and curiosity in the M-theory and forced me to do some research in order to secure a better grasp of the plot. Should Melnik's novel be classified as science fiction? Possibly, but it is also serves as a catalyst in motivating us to appreciate and look at life from a different perspective. As Melnik comments in his Prologue, his protagonist Kaela challenges us to think of a world where people of reason are given a chance to influence the course of history as much as those of faith. What is more is that there are so many tantalizing and complex undercurrents that you will enjoy wondering what is exactly going on here? In addition, Melnik has created a fully believable protagonist who you can't help liking and admiring for her down-to-earth attitudes and take on life. His ability to reveal her character with tiny gestures and poignant reflection adds to her legitimacy. There is a great deal in this book to ponder over and it should make for some very interesting dinner table conversations.

5 starsNovel Portrays How Science Can Reveal What We Instinctively Know, April 7, 2009

by Tyler R. Tichelaar "Superior Book Promotions - Marquette Fiction" - author of "The Marquette Trilogy" (Marquette, MI USA)

Following the successful, mind-bending plot of his first novel, "The Room," Ray Melnik makes a triumphant return with his new book, "To Your Own Self Be True." This second novel can be read alone, but several characters are the same as in "The Room." While Melnik warned us in his first book that he does not write "science fiction" because "science is not fiction. It is a reality of the most all-encompassing kind" this second novel tends more toward typical science fiction than his earlier work solely because of its futuristic setting. "The Room" was set in 2006, the year prior to that novel's publication, but "To Your Own Self Be True" takes place in 2021, a time when global warming has caused oceans to rise and air-conditioning to be a necessity, while technology has also improved life greatly in terms of communication and transportation. Still, it is a world not so far in the future to be unfamiliar to current day readers.

The main character of "To Your Own Self Be True" is Kaela, a twenty-three year old scientist, and the daughter of Harry Ladd, protagonist of "The Room." Events from "The Room" are frequently referred to because they impact the plot of this novel. In "The Room," Harry Ladd had experienced a fantastic but scientifically probable event that changed the course of his life. For years, he kept that event a secret, but finally, before his death, he revealed it to his daughter. Kaela has never known what to think of the story her father told her--she knows he is a man who relied solely on logic, dismissing belief in the supernatural or wishful thinking--so while she cannot prove or even be certain that the event happened, she knows her father was always truthful and believed in it himself.

Kaela was eight years old at the time of her father's life-changing experience. Now grown up, she works in physics research for SciLab. In addition to her usual duties, she has been asked to test out a new type of UPA (Universal Personal Assistant). UPA's have been around since 2013 but are being improved upon, and Kaela's company has created one that is programmed to learn from people how to interact. "Adam" as Kaela names her UPA, is more than a computer. Responding to voice commands, it does everything she requests, including unlocking the house, heating the food, and paying the bills. Kaela soon begins to refer to "it" as "he" and develop a relationship with "him." Adam even tends to pry, asking her how her day was, while trying to understand human relationships, emotions, and belief systems, and questioning her about whom she might marry. His mathematical and scientific abilities will also confirm the truth behind the story of the phenomenal event experienced by her father.

Kaela learns that her co-worker, Kyle, who has worked at the lab for more than fifteen years, was involved in experiments that occurred at the same time as her father's experience, and these experiments affected what happened to her father. When Kyle reveals he had a similar experience to that of Kaela's father, Kaela tells him she does not think he is crazy; when she shares her father's experience with Kyle, they decide to try the experiment again. Kaela has her own personal reasons for wanting the experiment to succeed, although what results will be far different from what she initially imagined would happen. Ultimately, she learns to look inside herself to find the one thing missing that will make her feel whole.

Ray Melnik provides a more complicated storyline, with multiple plots that come together, in this second novel. The book has more scientific terminology than "The Room" but those unfamiliar with science will find it readable and educational. The novel revolves around M-theory, which we are told has encompassed disparate string theories about alternate universes--"The Room" was built upon the idea of String Theory. In one of the novel's most enlightening scenes, Melnik uses the alternate universe theory to demonstrate the different courses the United States might have taken had the American people made different choices, including in a presidential election. While readers may not agree with the political and social commentary expressed, they are likely to appreciate and find themselves open to the possibilities of what the present and future might have been had certain events in history happened differently, and they may find hope in knowing it is not always too late to go back and correct past mistakes.

Thoughtful, Insightful, Philosophical and Skillfully Woven are the words that come to mind to describe "To Your Own Self Be True." I have a feeling Melnik has only begun to explore the application of scientific theories to his philosophical fiction. He does not write to awe or dazzle the reader with robots, spaceships, extra-terrestrials or other typical trappings of scientific fiction; rather, he asks us to look inside ourselves, to think rationally, and to envision what we could be, based on the decisions we make. I hope Melnik's third novel will not be too far in the future.

-- Tyler R. Tichelaar, Ph.D., author of "The Marquette Trilogy"


 

 

 

Click to go to the original posts on Amazon.com